Monday, September 30, 2013

Naples Players announces finalists in New Plays contest

Here's the press release on the finalists for the Naples Players’ ETC…Readers’ Theatre New Plays contest.

Finalists are:  Marc Simon, Carole Fenstermacher, Joan Hetzler and Chuck Wood. Natalie King was awarded Honorable Mention.

Complete press release below.

ETC…Names 10th Year New Plays Winners

The Naples Players’ ETC…Readers’ Theatre has selected four Finalists and one Honorable Mention in its tenth annual New Plays contest for Southwest Florida playwrights, coordinator Joan Laughlin announced.

The Finalist playwrights and their plays are: Marc Simon, Naples, “Thus Saith the Angel of the Lord;”  Carole Fenstermacher, Naples, “Clarissa;” Joan Hetzler, Naples, “The Bridge Party,” and Chuck Wood, Ft. Myers, “Waiting for My Vote.”  Honorable Mention was awarded Natalie King, Naples, for “Speed.”

Each Finalist will receive a $100 royalty, individual memorial trophy, and staged public reading of the winning plays at 7:30 p.m. Friday Dec. 6 and Saturday Dec. 7 in Tobye Studio of Sugden Community Theatre in downtown Naples.  A special reception for the audience, casts, directors and winners will follow the Friday presentation. Tickets priced at $10 each go on sale at the Box Office 30 days in advance; phone263-7990.

Three of the four Finalists and the Honorable Mention, which were anonymously judged from 17 qualified submissions, also have been winners in past ETC…New Plays contests – Simon twice in all, Fenstermacher three times, Wood twice, and King twice as a Finalist and twice  an Honorable  Mention.  Joan Hetzler is a first-time Finalist, for “The Bridge Party.”

 In addition, the 33 Finalist playwrights, Honorable Mentions and their plays for the first ten years of the contest will be recognized at the public readings.  The contest in its first decade received 220 qualified entries from Lee and Collier and other SWFL counties.

Several of the plays also have been presented in New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Sarasota and other community theatres in the United States.

Judges for the 2013 event were Patti Caroli, Val Kuffel and Nancy Menaldi-Scanlan. The Finalist and Honorable Mention plays were accepted by the ETC…Readers’ Theatre Committee and approved by Naples Players Artistic Director Dallas Dunnagan.

Dunnagan noted at the start of the series that the contest is held “to encourage, recognize and promote original works by SWFL playwrights.”

Primary mission of ETC…Readers’ Theatre is to provide less than fully staged presentations to the SWFL community – short plays, comic and dramatic, full-length classic comedies, as well as original works by area playwrights.  In doing so, ETC… offers on-stage opportunities for experienced and novice players – several hundred to date – to more than 6,500 audience members.  

No comments:

Post a Comment