Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Cast lists, directors announced for ETC "Evening of New Plays" on Dec. 6 & 7

Here's the cast lists and directors for the Naples Players’ ETC…Readers’ Theatre "Evening of New Plays."

Public readings of the four finalists' plays will be 7:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 6 and Saturday, Dec. 7 at Sugden Community Theatre. A reception follows the Friday show. For tickets ($10), call 239-263-7990 or contact the box office.

Complete press release below.

    The Naples Players’ ETC…Readers’ Theatre has announced directors and casts for its 10th annual “Evening of New Plays.”  The four Finalists’ public readings will be at 7:30 p.m. Friday Dec. 6 and Saturday Dec. 7 in the Tobye Studio in Sugden Community Theatre in downtown Naples. A  special reception for everybody, honoring all 33 Finalists for the first decade, will follow the Friday presentation, noted event coordinator Joan Laughlin.
    The 2013 winning plays and playwrights, directors and casts are:
    “Thus Saith the Angel of the Lord” by Marc Simon, Naples.  Director is Annie Rosemond and cast members are Mary Jane Jones, John Reidy and Michael Troop.
    “Clarissa” by Carole Fenstermacher, Naples.  Joel Banow is director.  Cast members are  Joel Banow, Linda Miseur, Barbara Role and David Whalley.
    “Waiting for My Vote” by Chuck Wood, Lehigh Acres,  Bob Garnett is director.  Cast members are Ed Bransilver and Keith Gahagan.
    “The Bridge Party” by Joan Hetzler, Naples.  Director is Janina Birtolo and cast members are Barbara Bonthron, Lori Broderick, Jan Byrne, Casey Cobb, Margo Escott, Frank Garofalo, Louise Langley, Claire McKinney and Michael Troop.
    The judges also awarded an Honorable Mention to Natalie King for her play “Speed.”
    In addition to the public readings and reception, each of the 2013 Finalists will receive a $100 royalty, individual memorial trophy and two Dec. 6 complimentary tickets.
    Judges were Patti Caroli, Val Kuffel and Nancy Menaldi-Scanlan.
    Tickets are priced at $10 each at the Box Office.  Call 239-263-7990.
    Said this year’s Finalists of their plays:  Marc Simon, “The playwright’s role is to entertain us, make us think and push our emotional buttons…”;  Carole Fenstermacher, “It was the ETC contest that first inspired me to try my hand at playwriting: now I can’t stop…”; Chuck Wood, “The play is a drama with light moments…I do want to continue playwriting…”; Joan Hetzler, “I see the playwright as a good story teller who pulls people into an interactive entertainment experience.”  
    The contest has received more than 200 qualified entries in its first 10 years.  Its purpose is “to encourage, recognize and promote original works by SWFL playwrights,” noted Artistic Director Dallas Dunnagan.  Several ETC… winners and submissions also have been presented in Los Angeles, Chicago, Sarasota and other community theatres.        #    #    #

No comments:

Post a Comment